Acaryas Quotes Bhakti Quotes The Meaning of Compassion

The Meaning of Compassion

People don’t know the meaning of compassion until they’ve been roasted by the fire of a pure Vaisnava’s chastisement. Those who surrender to and live nearby such Vaisnavas get a good roasting of such compassionate chastisement on a regular basis, while they are burning through their anarthas.

A society with state-sanctioned slaughterhouses is a demonic society. Scripture describes that meat-eating destroys compassion. So all the marxist socialist BS about compassion based on sentiment, while they have sanctioned slaughterhouses, is just that: BS, used as a powerful tool in an age-old cultural war between those with divine qualities and tendencies, and those with demonic qualities and tendencies. Compassion is for the suffering soul in samsara caged in material bodies. “Liberal” or “Conservative” “Right” or “Left” Human Supremacists who think its okay to kill hundreds of billions of animals annually to satisfy their tongues will be awakened to the reality of their brutality by the compassion of Vaisnavas like Prabhupada who declares them all to be rascal demons. This is the highest compassion. Because until you stop feeding the disease, stop slaughtering billions of poor animals, you will have no peace. You want peace, you must first give peace to those weaker than you, then you can get peace yourself.

Vaisnavas are the only real compassionate people in the world.

[CC-by-NDNC Bhakta Bandhav]

Previous articleHis Primary Goal
Next articleVerse 21: Vātsalya-rasa

Must Read

Siksastakam: Understanding the First Verse by Connecting to the Guru-varga

Understanding the First Verse by Connecting to the Guru-varga Mahāprabhu gave the order to Rūpa Gosvāmī to establish and expound...


Devotees from Srila Bhaktivedanta Narayan Goswami Maharaja's Radhe Kunj temple in Vrindavan, lovingly donated clothes and prasadam sweet packets to the residents of Radha Kunda. Such a precious service in the topmost sacred place...

Verse 16: Gradation in the Manifestation of Bhāvas

There is a gradation in the manifestation of bhāvas in accordance with the mental disposition or the heart of the devotee. In devotees whose hearts are very grave (gambhīra) or deep like the ocean, the manifestation of these bhāvas is not seen or their manifestation may be perceived only to a slight extent. In devotees whose hearts are very flickering and shallow like a small pond...

IS GURU BHAKTI FIRST? Is Guru-sevā the only way?

If one forgets his identity as the servant of guru, he has not taken shelter of guru but, rather, stolen guru’s post. “Who is guru?” “I am guru.” “Then what is your Guru Mahārāja’s post?” “I am now jagad-guru.” If this position comes and one cheats others, then everything will be lost. “Dāso ’ham,” I am the servant. I am guru-dāsa, the servant of Śrī Guru. And anyone who comes, I will collect them and bring them to the shelter of Śrī Guru. This is my duty. If I don’t do this, I will lose everything and will fall prey to brahmavāda, bauddhavāda, or māyāvāda. Here it is written, guru pādāśraya, dīkṣā, then śikṣā, and viśrambheṇa guru-sevā. This means your guru-sevā must continuously go on, and anything that comes to you must be entirely offered to Śrī Guru. “My love, affection, desire, duty, property, wealth, health, and everything I possess is for guru-sevā.” Then everyone who is near you will come inside that channel and flow. If you are independent, then the flow of guru’s mercy will stop, and you will not be helpful to any jīva. Then you are not an authority; you are a cheater. This is called māyāvāda. Water is helpful for people to drink, but when it is very cold, the water becomes ice, hard like a rock and undrinkable. When guru’s śakti comes, a little power, then I think, “I am the master.” ‘Prabhuta pai, mada kahi nahi,’ all become intoxicated with position and authority. Where am I now? Have I crossed māyā? Visvāmṛta Ṛṣi tried to send his unqualified disciple to heaven upon his repeated requests, but the demigods kicked him out, shouting, “Get out! Rascal!” He shouted, “Gurudeva, Gurudeva, I am falling, save me! I will die.” Then Visvāmṛta Ṛṣi shouted, “Tiṣṭha!” (Be fixed where you are!) Then he hung in the sky, legs up and head down. This is like the position of the bogus disciple who tries to steal the post of his guru. Sad-guru always thinks of himself as guru-dāsa, and always performs viśrambheṇa guru-sevā. He continuously serves his Gurudeva, and he brings everyone and gives them to the lotus feet of Śrī Guru. If anyone came to Śrīla Gurudeva, he would offer them to the lotus feet of Rūpa Gosvāmī, saying, “Now you are a rūpānuga.” Guru-sevā is essential! If I try to steal and enjoy guru’s property, I will be a great demon. Gurudeva appears in his śrī-vigraha for the sādhaka. Gurudeva first appears in this world and helps the living entities in one body and then Guru-pāda-padma appears everywhere in thousands and thousands of bodies. If anyone serves him, worships and follows all rules and regulations of bhakti in front of him, then he will be connected to Śrī Guru, and vraja-bhakti-rasa, prema-rasa, and vraja-bhāva will flow to that person. This is the bhajana-rasa-dhara that comes to the sādhaka. The sādhaka will not think, “I am equal to Śrī Guru.” Uddhava asked Kṛṣṇa, “How can I protect myself from māyā when You go?” “Worship My Deity.” śailī dārumayī lauhī lepyā lekhyā ca saikatī manomayī maṇimayī pratimāṣṭa-vidhā smṛtā Śrīmad-Bhāgavatam 11.27.12 The Deity, or arca-vigraha of Śrī Bhagavān, is of the following eight kinds: marble or stone, wood, iron, gold or any other alloy, clay, painted, sand, mentally conceived, and made of gems, pearls or jewels. If you have nothing, then you can even draw a picture of Śrī Guru on the wall and worship him there. The Deities of God and Śrī Guru are not different. If you don’t worship guru and perform viśrambheṇa guru-sevā, you will fall down. Prema-sevā is learnt from Guru Mahārāja. By serving Guru-pāda-padma, pure devotion will come in your life.

Always be in Sadhu-sanga – 12 June 1996

Srimati Radhika and Krsna both are embodied in the form of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. So, Krsna has come to taste Her prema, and not to give this prema. Sva-bhakti, means the mood of Rupa Gosvami; the mood of Rupa Manjari—to serve both. He has come to give this. And, it will be achieved only by following Raganuga-marga, Raga-marga. Caitanya Mahaprabhu has especially come for two purposes— to preach and give Raga-marga and to taste the three moods of Srimati Radhika. Except Krsna, no one can give this prema. Prema cannot be given by anyone else—even by Rama or Dvarakadisa. So, Krsna has given this prema in the form of Caitanya Mahaprabhu. And this is called Raga-marga. If you are in the line of Caitanya Mahaprabhu, then you will have to adopt this process. We can easily have a very thick greed to attain this prema. And if you are not having this mood, then you should think that you are not in the line of Caitanya Mahaprabhu. Then you are in the line of vaidhi-bhakti. Caitanya Mahaprabhu has not come to give vaidhi-bhakti. But He has said, “Wait a little in the line of vaidhi-bhakti.” Our Gurus and Acaryas in our disciplic order have come to teach and explain to us Caitanya Caritamrita, and the books of Rupa Gosvami, Raghunatha das Gosvami, and Krsna das Kaviraja Gosvami. If you will read and think about these books, then you can easily have that greed to attain that prema. Try to have a book of Svamiji.

More Articles Like This