Acaryas Quotes Gurudeva said today The Way to Enter into the Realm of Bhakti

The Way to Enter into the Realm of Bhakti

Śaraṇāgati has six limbs. First of all, ānukūlyasya saṅkalpaḥ: one should make a very strong, determined, unbreakable vow to except those things that are favorable for devotional service. Pratikūlyasya varjanam: one should leave anything that is unfavorable or detrimental to devotional service. Even if you know someone who is most dear to you, but his association is unfavorable, he must be given up. Rakṣiṣyatīti viśvāso: at the time of danger, who will protect me? I have very strong confidence that Śrī Kṛṣṇa will protect me. Then goptṛtve-varaṇaṁ: who will maintain me? Who will maintain my life, now and in the future? If a lady gets a husband she may think, “Oh, my husband will maintain me,” and forget Kṛṣṇa. This is not Śaraṇāgati. Śaraṇāgati means, “I have very strong faith that Kṛṣṇa will maintain me at every step of my life.” Then, ātmā-nikṣepa-kārpaṇe: kārpaṇe means to always be very meek and humble and to consider oneself more insignificant than a blade of grass. Ātmā-nikṣepa: this means to have no independent desire. Śaraṇāgati is actually not bhakti—it is the step leading towards bhakti; it is the door through which one must go to enter into the realm of bhakti.

August 10, 2004 Purī

Previous articleOceans of Love and Affection
Next articlePrema-tattva

Must Read


If we desire prema-sevā, divine loving service, we will make a firm vow to Śrīmatī Rādhikā and Her prominent sakhīs like Lalita-devi, Viśākhā, Rūpa Mañjarī, and so forth. We will pray, “I will not take shelter of any other. I only seek and wait for Your blessings and mercy. I will only associate with those who similarly seek Your shelter and who have vraja-niṣṭha. I will sternly avoid any other association.”

Secrets of Damodara-lila – 24 Feb 1997 Bali, Denpasar

So there are two methods, two fingers. By just doing practice in bhakti yoga, all sadhana, heart to heart, Krsna will not come. If Krsna’s mercy is there but you are not doing anything, then you cannot receive the mercy, so both things have to be there. Our strong endeavor and Krsna’s mercy, if both are there, then we can see Krsna. If Krsna’s mercy is always there, but we are not doing proper sadhana and bhajan, then we can understand that that is why we are not getting any success. We should try to weep for Krsna’s mercy, for Guru’s mercy and for the mercy of the uttama adhikari.

Criticize and Lose the Holy Name

Srila Rupa Gosvami has promised: “One should stay in Vrndavana under the guidance of a sadhu, chant the holy names, hear Srimad Bhagavatam from the lotus mouth of a rasika Vaisnava and serve the Deity of the Lord. There is no doubt that by performing these five activities one will surely receive krsna-prema.” However, there is one condition – there should be no disrespect or offence to the Vaisnava...

Verse 19: Dāsya-rasa

In dāsya-rasa two kinds of devotees are fit recipients of Kṛṣṇa’s mercy: those who possess the attitude of servants and those who possess the attitude of being maintained or reared by Kṛṣṇa. Consequently dāsya-rasa is divided into two: (A) sambhrama-prīta and (B) gaurava-prīta...

Śrī Guru as a Manifestation of Kṛṣṇa

The love and affection of Śrīmatī Rādhikā is higher than that of Śrī Kṛṣṇa. Although Śrīla Bilvamaṅgala Ṭhākura indicates that Kṛṣṇa is superior to Rādhikā, those in the line of Śrīla Rūpa Gosvāmī, Śrīla Raghunātha dāsa Gosvāmī, and Śrīla Prabodhānanda Sarasvatī desire that Rādhikā be always victorious over Kṛṣṇa – and it actually happens that way...

More Articles Like This