These are not separate lines. Srila Bhaktivedanta Swami Maharaja told you, “You should know who Krishna is. He is the Supreme Personality of Godhead.” But I am telling you to forget this.

Some devotees are of the opinion, “We are the monarchs of all. Maharaja should not speak like this. This is not the line of Srila Bhaktivedanta Svami Maharaja.”
To them, I reply, “But this is the actual line of what Svamiji spoke. He wanted to bring everyone to the shelter of this line. There is not the slightest difference between his words and mine.”

I wanted to speak on Sri Raya Ramananda Samvad. We should know all tattvas (philosophical conclusions). I will question everyone on the ten principles of Bhakti—Dasa mula tattva. We should note these words down. Dasa mula tattva has been written and explained in Jaiva Dharma. Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura especially has manifested these priceless devotional conclusions for the upliftment of the conditioned souls of this world. We should honor and serve this devotional masterpiece of a book—Jaiva dharma. I will ask everyone the ten principles Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura has stated and enunciated on in Jaiva dharma. These principles are in an unmanifest form in Sri Caitanya Caritamrita, the books of Srila Rupa Gosvami, Srila Jiva Gosvami, and in the teachings of Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura manifested them for our benefit. These ten principles have also been stated in the Bhagavad Gita, Srimad Bhagavatam, and the Vedas. They have been stated in all scriptures. We should know all these principles. I will question everyone on these ten principles tomorrow.

If the devotee remembers and realizes these ten principles, then jnane prayasam udapasya will manifest at the stage of bhava. This will not manifest in the stage of sadhana bhakti. In sadhana bhakti we must know all these principles.

Vishrambhena guru seva (to engage in intimate service to guru) applies to whom? It applies to those who are advanced and to those who have been initiated. Perhaps I have not taken diksa (initiation). Externally I have been initiated, but I don’t know if I am established in diksha. I don’t know if all the members of the assembly have taken diksa or not. I think most of you have taken diksa. Who have taken diksa?

[many devotees raise their hands]

When will we be established in diksa? What is diksa? Di—stands for divya jnana, sambhanda jnana, Krishna tattva jnana, bhakti tattva jnana, and maya tattva jnana. The second part of the word diksha, i.e. ksa—stands for the removal of all unwanted, repulsive elements that obstruct our sadhana- bhajana like offenses, and anarthas. The heart is washed clean of all undesirable tendencies. Then the real fruit of diksa is born. You have written your name down as a student in the preliminary class of diksa, when you have been initiated. Real, internal diksa hasn’t yet taken place. Diksa has taken place in the truest sense of the term, when you have realized all tattvas and as a result, all evil subtleties like offenses have been eliminated. During that realized stage, you will know the answers to questions like—who is Krishna? What is bhakti? Who is Srimati Radhika? What is mahabhava? You will know the answers to these questions, but you will be unrealized. If you are realized, you will be situated in the stage of prema bhakti and no longer being bound to a material body anymore. You will have realized your original spiritual body. In the stage of sadhana, you should at least have a nut shell of an idea of these tattvas.

11 May 1996, HOLY LAND

Must Read

Pāñcarātrika guru-paramparā and bhāgavata-paramparā

Nowadays, people are constantly concocting new objections to the lineage being presented by the Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇava sampradāya as their authentic guru-paramparā. Some believe that since Śrī Baladeva Vidyābhūṣaṇa was initiated into the Madhva sampradāya, he was not actually a Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇava. They assert that, although he had the association of Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇavas, the influence of the Madhva sampradāya was strong...

Verse 19: Dāsya-rasa

In dāsya-rasa two kinds of devotees are fit recipients of Kṛṣṇa’s mercy: those who possess the attitude of servants and those who possess the attitude of being maintained or reared by Kṛṣṇa. Consequently dāsya-rasa is divided into two: (A) sambhrama-prīta and (B) gaurava-prīta...

Varuthinī Ekādaśī – The Vrajavāsīs Appeal to Nanda Baba

Mahāprabhu replied, “Following Ekādaśī is the primary limb of bhakti. She is the mother of devotion. One must take shelter of Ekādaśī-devī. If you do not respect her you will be destroyed. No one has the strength to save you if you disrespect Ekādaśī-devī. When Ekādaśī-devī mercifully comes, you must respect her no matter what. You will get mahā-prasāda every day, but on the day of Ekādaśī do not take that mahā-prasāda. Take it the next day, in doing this there is no problem...


Śrīla Gurudeva went to houses of people from all walks of life to inspire them to practice bhakti. When a local congregational member was struggling or someone was sick in the family, Gurudeva would go and give comfort and help. He once went at dawn, without telling anyone he was leaving, and did not return until late morning. His brahmacārī assistant had prepared his breakfast as normal, but when Śrīla Gurudeva returned, he said, “I already ate.” “Where?” the brahmacārī asked. “I went to the home of poor gṛhasthas who keep donkeys for labor work. One of them was sick, so I went to help.”

What We’re Missing Despite Societal Advances – 14 Feb 1997 Australia

If Caitanya Mahaprabhu had not come, who would have given that Krsna-prema to the world. Caitanya Mahaprabhu gave to anyone who came in front of Him, even to animals, dogs, like the dog of Sivananda Sen. And also others. Even these animals became full of Krsna-prema. Even elephants and tigers and deer, were all dancing, and embracing each other in ecstasy, and chanting harinam: Hare Krsna Hare Krsna, like this… Now, you should tell anyone to speak...

More Articles Like This