Acaryas Quotes Gurudeva said today After This, We Can Achieve Prema

After This, We Can Achieve Prema

Śrīla Rūpa Gosvāmī has written what was the mood of Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu, or, what He wanted to give us. He has told in the beginning that pure devotion, when it is practiced in the supervision or guidance of any bona fide Guru and Vaiṣṇavas, then bhakti begins from śraddhā:

ādau śraddhā tataḥ sādhu-saṅgo ’tha bhajana-kriyā
tato ’nartha-nivṛttiḥ syāt tato niṣṭhā rucis tataḥ
athāsaktis tato bhāvas tataḥ premābhyudañcati
sādhakānām ayaṁ premṇaḥ prādurbhāve bhavet kramaḥ

And after that bhāva comes. So, there are about eight stages coming up to prema, from bhāva it comes to prema. So, we should try to understand all the things and try to have śraddhā; after this anartha-nivåtti, niṣṭhā, after that ruci, then āsakti, then viśuddha-sattva, that is bhāva, and then, after this, we can achieve prema.

June 09, 1996 Venables Valley, Canada

Previous articleReal Guru
Next articleA Special Form of Love

Must Read

Gaurahari is Very Kind

He has come to hold your hand, embrace you, take you in His lap and say, “Please come with Me, dance with Me, play with Me. You have forgotten Me and you have forgotten yourself, but I am now telling you that I am yours and you are Mine.”

The Way of Eternal Happiness – 1997 Jan 28 Malaysia

Understand? Don’t disturb anyone. Let that remain. You should try to listen. Two rats came and began to cut the branches from which he was hanging. In a minute or two the branches would be cut, and he would fall down. Inside is death. Outside of the well is death. In the meantime, he saw that a branch was coming towards his mouth. On that branch, so many bees were there collecting honey in a beehive. From that, a drop of honey, slowly dropped—one, two…. They were golden drops, very sweet drops were coming…one, two…. He saw this and could not check himself. He took his tongue and tasted one drop and exclaimed, “How sweet! How sweet!” But the rats were coming. In a moment he will go and die. Outside is death. Inside is death. If you shake the branch where the bees are making their rooms, they will come and attack. At once lakhs and lakhs of bees will come out and, in a minute or two you will die. So, in four ways, on every side of you… and all ten directions, death is waiting for you. But this taste is coming, “How sweet!” And then he is forgetting everything. What is this?


“Vrajācārya-pīṭha and the World Religious Parliament of New Delhi, India, presents ācārya of the millennium. Engrained with the comprehensive spiritual wealth of the Vedas and Vedangas, Ayurveda, Jyotisa and related sciences; the protector of traditional heritages; eloquently knowledgeable in the doctrines of Sanskrit which is the mother of all languages; staunch believer in its spread and propagation; a passionate seeker of human social welfare; dedicated to the traditional path and following Caitanya Mahāprabhu, Caitanya Maṭha, and the bhāskara-gurus; being a disciple of Śrīla Bhakti Prajñāna Keśava Gosvāmī Mahārāja; entrenched in service through bhakti; a remarkable follower and adherent of the aryan-sanātana philosophical traditions; propagator of love to all faiths, humility, and selflessness towards every religion; saintly with pristine spiritualy and giver of the profoundest love to one and all; follower and practioner of luminous sanātana knowledge upholding the great tradition of universal brotherhood; dedicated to the promulgation, propagation, and protection of the unique Vraja culture and environment, and immeasurably desirous of the redevelopment of Vraja—his divine holiness is one who is enlightened and embraced with divine benevolence and is an authoritive ācārya filled with eruditeness, a teacher of teachers, and a guardian and flag bearer of the Śrī kṛṣṇa-bhakti movement—his Divine Grace oṁ viṣṇupāda aṣṭottara-śata Śrī Śrīmad Bhaktivedānta Nārāyaṇa Gosvāmī Mahārāja.”

Parsva Ekadasi and Vamana Dvadasi

Today is Parsva Ekadasi and Vamana Dvadasi. Both these tithis are together. This is called vishnu-srinkhala-yoga. These tithis have come together to bind Vishnu. In the beginning of the rainy season there is Sayana Ekadasi. On that day, Hari lays down to rest on His left side. Two months later, at the halfway point of caturmasya, Lord Vishnu turns on to His right side. Two of Bhagavan’s saktis are bhu-sakti and lila-sakti. Sometimes bhu-sakti receives prominence in Bhagavan’s service and sometimes lila-sakti has prominence. Sri-sakti and lila-sakti are one and bhu-sakti is separate. If you go to the temples of South India, you will always see Sri-devi and Bhu-devi present in the temple with Vishnu. However, these are extrinsic points on the import of this day. What is the real matter?...

Try To Understand

One who assumes the dress and position of an acarya, who speaks against the conclusions of Srimad-Bhagavatam and other scriptures, or performs kirtana opposed to the proper glorification of Sri Krsna, certainly goes to hell for countless lifetimes along with his disciples and whoever else hears such non-devotional talks and kirtanas...

More Articles Like This